30 Days with RA!

Happy April! It’s APRIL already? How did this happen? Life moves too fast sometimes (when you’re busy running to medical appointments every other day, ha).

Well anyway, I’m happy that the weather is starting to get nicer and that Spring is approaching (hopefully). I’m also happy to be starting this little 30-day project for the month of April: 30 Days with RA.

I wrote an article about it recently for RheumatoidArthritis.net (the link above), which can give you a better, more-detailed explanation of the project, if you’re interested.

The short version:

For 30 days people with RA (myself and anybody else who wants to join) will accept a challenge to take some sort of positive action in their lives, such as starting a new habit or routine (gluten-free diet, exercise, etc.), starting or sticking with a self-care activity (meditation, yoga, etc.), trying a new (or old) hobby (reading your book every day instead of watching TV). Those are just a few examples, but I think the possibilities could be pretty endless? Sharing photos and using a common hashtag on social media can be a fun way to connect with others also working on their own goals and to keep each other motived: #30dayswithRA

My first 30 Days with RA challenge is to track my food and calories for the month of April–without cheating. I desperately need to lose weight and I have come to realize that tracking is the only way I’m able to do it. I’m using the SparkPeople app again; I was able to lose weight a few years ago using it. According to SparkPeople, my daily calorie range should be 1,200-1,550 calories–adjusted for my weight, height, and age. If you want to do your own calorie and food tracking, I know there are other apps out there that do similar things, too–My Fitness Pal is another one.

So! Today is April 4th and I have been tracking my food and calories every day since April 1st, and without cheating or forgetting. It’s not easy or fun, really, but weight loss is a goal that I really want to accomplish and this is the only way I can successfully do it.

Although, in conjunction with 30 Days with RA, I have also pledged to do 30 Days of Biking again, for the second year! Riding my bike every day for the month of April can only help with my health and weight loss goals, right?

So who’s in? What will you do for 30 days? :)

Leave a Reply

