Hello again, Humira

Aaaand…I’m recently on Humira. Again. Xeljanz (as well as Actemra) failed me. Last Friday I gave myself my fourth injection, which now equals two months of being on Humira. Unfortunately, maddeningly, I’m still taking prednisone and I’m still having pain and swelling in my fingers and feet and ankles. I’m not happy about this. Actually, I’m trying hard to not be scared to death about it. Are the anti-TNFs no longer working? Will anything work?! Will I ever get off prednisone?

Here’s another update I wrote for RheumatoidArthritis.net about what’s been going on in my RA life, and specifically about the recent switch back to Humira:

“Hello Again, Humira”

My body is really frustrating me lately. In fact, I kind of hate it. I know that’s not a great attitude to have and being angry and pessimistic will not make things better. It’s really hard though when you feel like you’re playing this never-ending game of musical chairs or “musical drugs.” But it doesn’t sound much like music to me–more like the unbearable shrieking sound of “WE’RE NOT GOING TO HELP YOU!” screaming over and over in my head.

Come on, Humira. Get moving and do what you’re supposed to do, please. Please.

2 thoughts on “Hello again, Humira

  1. I have no idea if this is fact or myth, but one of my rheumatologists said that the biologics can lose their effect if stopped and restarted. I had a brief period of time (maybe 2 months?) off my Orencia for insurance reasons, and I feel like ever since I restarted (which has been over 3 years ago), I just don’t feel the same. Now, that could just be the progression of RA over those 3 years, or there could be some truth to the interruption of the biologics. I’m also desperately searching for an end to prednisone with no luck- it’s been something like 12 years on low dose now :( On the pain train with you!

    1. Hello,
      Thank you for your comment! Yes, that’s what I’m afraid of…that starting the same drug again won’t work as well or work at all. However in the past I went off and on Remicade twice and I had no problem. It’s so frustrating and hard to know how these drugs will work. I’m sorry to hear that you’re also struggling trying to get off prednisone. I hope something can work for you ASAP!

      -Angela

Leave a Reply

