Catch-up: Joint Decisions/ACR/etc.

ACR15

Where does the time go? Seriously. So much has happened just within the span of a few weeks, but in a way it feels much longer ago than that.

OCTOBER: In late October I flew to New Jersey to participate in an advisory panel for a pharmaceutical company. It was a one-day consulting job, but I found it to be very professional, interesting, and a great chance to discuss RA and RA-related issues with others who are involved in rheumatology and healthcare.

After New Jersey, I decided to swing over to NYC for a brief visit (since I was in the neighborhood), and I had a wonderful time staying with my friend Holly in her little apartment in Hell’s Kitchen, Manhattan. It felt both odd and good to be back in New York, after I had to leave it so miserably and abruptly at the end of August. This time, I didn’t want to leave.

NOVEMBER: A week after I returned from NJ/NYC, I found myself on a plane yet again (I’m usually not such a jetsetter), this time heading to San Francisco for the annual Joint Decisions Empowerment Summit. This year it was actually held in Sausalito, which proved to be a perfect and beautiful choice for a location. The summit was excellent, as it was last year in Boston, and I will write a more in-depth update about that soon.

The last day of our Joint Decisions summit, most of us RA bloggers/activists traveled over to San Francisco to attend the American College of Rheumatology‘s annual meeting/conference. This was my second time attending and experiencing ACR, and wow, yet again I was impressed at its massiveness and global importance in the field of rheumatology and healthcare.

So right now, I’m desperately trying to play catch-up in the other areas of my life: work (substitute teaching, writing, photography), family, and my health.

Leave a Reply

