False alarm/gastritis

Well, maybe I shouldn’t have said something so soon. Sadly and frustratingly, I’m back on prednisone–5 mg. My right foot and ankle are flaring up again (seriously, what is WRONG with THAT foot and ankle?!). I see my rheumatologist on Thursday so we’ll see what he says about it.

And in other painful health news, I’ve been battling a bad case of gastritis (I think) for over a week. Thanks to omeprazole (Prilosec), and an anti-nausea drug, and severely limiting my diet, it seems to be getting better. What relief! The constant nausea (with some vomiting) and stomach pain has been so horrible. But on the bright side, I have been losing weight. This isn’t exactly the weight loss plan I had imagined for myself, however. Another good forced diet change: no Diet Coke or caffeine!

And in GOOD NEWS, I went on my first bike ride a couple days ago! I had to make a few stops and take breaks (I’m weak from sickness and not eating hardly anything and not exercising all winter), but it felt so good. It was a lot colder out today so I chickened out, but I hope to go on another ride very soon.

2 thoughts on “False alarm/gastritis

  1. Glad you managed to get out and enjoy a ride! I’m in the process of thinking about giving up caffeine – I know I need to, I drink a lot of tea – but it’s my ‘thing’, a bit of a crutch on the stressful days. I guess it’s better than smoking or alcohol but I still need to be rid of it. I get awful migraines when I try to cut back :/

Leave a Reply

